The most prominent feature of Snapchat is that the photos and images that you post on the photo sharing network are deleted after some time. No trace of what you have posted remains. This will no longer be the case. There is a ‘Memories’ feature on Snapchat that will allow you to archive your photographs forever, that is, with this feature, your Snapchat photos will not be deleted.
Here is a video that explains what the ‘Memories’ feature in Snapchat is
According to the description of the feature on the latest Snapchat blog post:
We realized that Snapchatters want to feel comfortable showing their Memories to friends while they’re hanging out together, so we made it easy to move Snaps and Stories to My Eyes Only — and avoid awkward moments when a friend stumbles upon a Snap meant just for you.
Memories is backed up by Snapchat. We won’t backup any photos or videos from your Camera Roll, unless you use one to make a new Story or add it to My Eyes Only. In that case, we’ll back up only the photo or video that you used.
So why is Snapchat moving away from its core feature of deleting the photos and images that you post within a few hours? Normally the photos and chats are deleted when they have been viewed by all the people you have sent your photos and chats to. Now you have the option to consign these photos to Memories.
Snapchat is introducing the option to save the photographs because its user profile seems to be growing in age. Up till now mostly it was the young people who were using the social networking app but now even older people, like parents and grandparents are joining the network and they don’t appreciate the idea of the photographs being deleted.
Besides, there is nothing to bring people back once the snaps are deleted. By creating Memories there will be another reason for people to come back to the app.