What do class 2, class 4, class 6, class 8 and class 10 in microSD cards mean?

Class 4 microSD card

In the morning I was trying to purchase a microSD card for my new HTC Desire 816 and I came across various classes of microSD cards. I wasn’t aware of what these classes mean, so I did a little research.

It is not something very important although to you it might seem important if the speed of data transfer matters. Basically there are 5 classes of microSD cards, viz, Class 2, Class 4, Class 6, Class 8 and Class 10 – I wonder why all the classes have even numbers. This is a speed rating and nothing else. 2 means the data can be transferred between the card and the devise with which it is being used (the phone, the laptop or the computer) with a speed of 2 MB per second. Similarly, Class 4 means 4MBps, and so on.

About Amrit Hallan
Amrit Hallan is the founder of TechBakBak.com. He writes about technology not because "he loves to write about technology", he actually believes that it makes the world a better place. On Twitter you can follow him at @amrithallan

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.